Detox, Part 2

So, today, it’s been very odd not to turn on the TV.  First thing this morning, I walked towards the TV in my office area before I realized it. I stopped myself short of turning it on.

After returning from my haircut, my impulse was to turn on the TV and watch while eating my lunch.

I’ve gone without TV before but it’s bringing me to the realization of how much I watch MINDLESS TV and how many times it’s just on to be background noise.  To keep me company…and to break the silence.

Intentional living has really become important to me this year.  Most things I do now, I stop and ask myself….how is this going to benefit me?  Why am I watching this show?  Why am I buying this?  Is this conversation getting anyone anywhere or nowhere at all?

It doesn’t mean everything we do should have a purpose to enlighten, educate, strengthen, etc.  We all still need pleasure and pain.  Somethings we do are going to take us to a place of discomfort or distress.  It just means everything in life has a reason…even if it’s just pure entertainment.

But there must be a balance.  We are healthier as human beings if we eat a balanced diet.  But we should still be able to have a donut or slice of cake at times.  The danger is to have a diet too heavy on foods that make us feel good instead of foods that are good for us.

So the whole detox thing for me is about what I ingest in my body, mind and spirit.  I started with TV because it’s a problem area for me.  No matter what time I got home, the first thing I’d do was turn on the TV.  So, even if I was reading in my bedroom, the TV was on downstairs.  No one watching it and me not even paying attention to it.

But I noticed something this year during my research on intentional living.  I got more out of TV when I watched something not just entertaining but enlightening, educational or even thought-provoking.  If what I was watching made me think or stirred an emotion other than laughter, I felt like I had eaten a full meal as opposed to snacked on some chips.

Which takes me back to the food.

So my goal is to give up take out or eat out Chinese AND fried foods until the end of the year.  Now, I can still cook Chinese but it will be healthier because I’m preparing it and I know what’s in it.  The fried foods have to go because they are always my downfall.  I’ve been allowing myself some fries here and there but I can’t eat ANY through Thanksgiving and Christmas and New Year’s.

Also, I am doing Fish Fridays.  And I will continue to juice to increase my vegetable intake.  And smoothies for fruit and dairy.  I’ve also been adding tart cherry juice to reduce inflammation.

Exercise?  I haven’t had much time with my new work schedule.  Then, I got sick and haven’t done anything other than stretching to keep my muscles in shape.  But my goal for the next two months is to do at least 3 times a week, Monday thru Friday, and twice on Saturday.

Without TV, I’ll have more time to do necessary things….laundry, organizing, etc.  And more time to do relaxing things like reading, writing and art work.

So, as I close the day, I can say I survived without watching TV.  I filled the space with house cleaning, listening to everything from Wes King to Gloria Estefan to Rumer, and catching up with an old friend.  Before turning out the light and closing my eyes, I’ll reread my Sunday school lesson and start a new book, Home by Toni Morrison. 

 

As I pray tomorrow at church, I’ll consider another area for detoxification.  Actually areaS!  I need to purge myself of things I no longer need….clothes, furniture, clutter.  But I also need to consider situations and relationships in my life.  A lot of cleansing is needed there.

BTW, a lot of this is also research for my new book!  See…intentional living…a reason and purpose for everything.

Good night, sweet dreams and blessings,

Carlton

One thought on “Detox, Part 2

  1. Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending
    way too much time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

