The Spiritual Side of A Balanced Life

Photo credit: thisisyourwakeupcallonline.com

My last blog post was on a balanced life.  I”ve been working on my body out of necessity.  But if I had a choice, I would have started somewhere else first.

So I recently decided to spend the next thirty days focused on spiritual rejuvenation.

There are several reasons why I’m choosing this time:

  • We are entering into the Christmas season.  I really want to spend time focused on the true reason for the season.
  • A young man at my church, Tony Young, as a matter of fact, recently shared his desire to deepen his spiritual life.  It really inspired me to see a first year college student with a passion to get closer to God.
  • I have a big birthday coming up next year.  I really want into 2012 with a greater zest for life, an openness to change, and a willing spirit.
  • It is always good to dedicate and commit to a period of time for change.  There’s a feeling in my spirit that I’m on the cusp of my next level.  There will be new challenges to face and demons to deal with.  And I need to be spiritually grounded and centered to face whatever comes my way.

Since my relationship with God is between me and him, I won’t give you full details of my spiritual journey.  I will share with you two things:

  1. I will spend a period of time each day devoted to prayer, meditation and reading.
  2. Each day, I will record spiritual reflections in my journal.
  3. I will challenge myself to step out of my comfort zone to connect with others and help them with their spiritual journey.

Wish me blessings on my journey!

Carlton

Romans 12:1 Therefore I exhort you, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a sacrifice – alive, holy, and pleasing to God – which is your reasonable service. 2 Do not be conformed to this present world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may test and approve what is the will of God – what is good and well-pleasing and perfect. 

Faith is the daring of the soul to go farther than it can see.      William Newton Clarke

 

Leave a Reply

