March 14, 2011 – Fish Friday

For Fish Friday, I conjured up this idea of using a sweet potato I had in the pantry to crust tilapia or swai.  Besides the taste, sweet potatoes are a great source of vitamin C, potassium and beta-carotene. 

I love simple flavors so I decided to use a homemade honey-dijon mustard as a “glue” for the grated potato.  And I seasoned the fish and grated potato with salt and pepper. 

And the finish product….

Sweet Potato Encrusted Tilapia with Honey-Dijon Mustard

It turned out good.  Next time, I’ll probably season the fish more and use a thinner coating of sweet potatoes.  The layer was too thick so the potatoes didn’t crisp all the way through.  But the fish was nice and flaky.

Leave a Reply

