March 11, 2011 – So, For 40 Days….

Finally decided what to do about Lent.  Well, I actually decided on Wednesday morning but I’m just now posting the details.

I'm taking away General Tso's power! (photo credit: Wikimedia)

So, for 40 days….

–  I will not be visiting the buffet at Legends of Asia… and I’m skipping the take-out from China Wok.  If there’s one cuisine that I always fall victim to, it’s Chinese.  It’s dangerous for me because I don’t do Chinese Lite.  If I do Chinese, it’s going to be fried, creamy, greasy and/or coated with sugar. 

INSTEAD, I am committing to Meatless Mondays and Fish Fridays.  I’ve already stocked my freezer with steam-bag vegetables, frozen swai and frozen tilapia.  And I’m already dreaming of great ways to prepare them.  First up, I’m going to try the swai with a grated sweet potato coating. 

I’m also committing to…

–  reading two books a week.  One book will, of course, be my Bible.  During these 40 days, I may need extra help to remain faithful not just to God but to my committment.  The other book will be something to enlighten or educate.  This week, I’m reading To Be A Man by Daniel S. Kaufman.  It’s a short book that can be easily read in 7 days or less. 

Purchased from the clearance section at Half Price Books for $1

–  I also changed my Wii routine a bit.  Up until now, I’ve been focused on aerobic and balance activities.  If you’re not familiar with Wii Fit Plus, there’s also a strength training and yoga section.  There’s also a whole section where you can do routines created to address weight loss, relaxation, toning, etc.  Or you can create your own.  I’m committing to do the Wii at least 5 days a week and to focus more on strength and yoga exercises.  And I reset my daily goal to a 3 ounce serving of fried catfish (which equals 200 calories) .

200 calories = a serving of fried catfish OR French toast. It's a shame they choose fattening foods as a goal!

As I was thinking about what to do in honor of Lent, I started out with the food committment first.  But then, I thought about what else I could work on for 40 days.  After adding the other goals, I realized I had unconsciously focused on WHOLENESS.  Everything I’m concentrating on is for my body, mind and spirit. 

I’m anxious to see the results at Easter. 

Have a blessed weekend,

Carlton

Leave a Reply

