March 1st, 2011 – 365 Days Later, At Least I’m Off The Ground

I spread my wings and at least I'm off the ground!

Be like the bird that, passing on her flight awhile on boughs too slight, feels them give way beneath her, and yet sings, knowing that she hath wings.
Victor Hugo
 
On this date, a year ago, I spread my wings.
I started the day with excitement.  I knew this was THE DAY.  I knew that after I took one more look, I would spread my wings to fly.  I would launch my first blog.
A slight degree of fear was there due to the unknown.  Was I doing the right thing?  Did I know what I was doing?  Did I choose the right blog host?  What were people going to think when they read my words?  But there was also a strong confidence that I was doing what I was SUPPOSED to be doing.  I knew that I was using the voice that God gave me to doing something positive. 
I was also slightly concerned because I had a reason to attempt flight.  My sense of job security, invested in my full-time job, was being challenged.  So as the ground beneath me was beginning to quake, my spirit was telling me to fly to a safe place.  
But all of that didn’t matter when I clicked on the blue “Publish” button on my WordPress dashboard.  It was done.  The first post was out there.  And there was nothing I could do about it.  Nor did I want to.  Because it felt right.   
So for 30 days, I did something that felt right every time I did it.  I shared my thoughts, my knowledge…and my wisdom in words, pictures and YouTube videos.  And every day, people came.  I didn’t care if it was 5 or 50.  It was just cool to see that people were coming back for whatever…enlightenment, laughter, education, etc. 
And now, here I am, a year later.  I don’t have a full-time job anymore but I still have a house, a car, a life.  I still have my health (another work in progress)…I still have my mind & my heart & my spirit.  I thank God everyday for his grace and mercy.  And since I started this journey, He has confirmed for me, so many times, that I am on the right path. 
And today, I thank you as well.  Hopefully, you are someone who has been here since the beginning.  And you’ve witnessed part of my evolution/transformation/transition as well as the development of this blog.  But I want to share a few facts with you about the blog because you have contributed to this process as well.
  • Number of hits (or visits) on the first day:  69.  I had no idea or expectation so that number was surprising. 
  • Number of hits since March 1st, 2010:  2,225!  Wow!
  • The highest number of hits occurred on July 15th with 77.  This was the day after I posted about reaching 1,000 hits.  I don’t know if it was the number of hits or the James Brown video that drove traffic.  I think it was the Godfather of Soul. 
  • Highest month of traffic occurred during the first month, March 2010.  Total for the month was 390 hits.
  • The lowest month was in August of 2010 with 62 views.  Could be due to the fact I didn’t post a lot that month. 
  • So far, there are 12 subscribers to the blog.  FYI – Subscribers receive an email the minute a post is published.  If you want to be a subscriber, just look on the right side for the subscribe option, type in your email and click the button.
  • According to comments, I’ve had readers from as far as Mexico and Deutschland.  And a language that I could not read.  It might have been Russian or Sanskrit.
  • What’s really interesting are the searches.  Just so you know, most of my postings are tagged.  There’s an area of the dashboard where I type in key words so that the blog shows up when people are Google-ing.  I didn’t see a lot of referrals or searches until I did the post on forgiveness.  That’s when I started seeing that specific posts, old or new, were being read because of Google.  During the holidays, I got a lot of hits because I was posting recipes or comments about turkeys, cookies, etc.  But there’s a regular search that shows up every week.  If anyone searches for bulimia, anorexia, or taste sensors, it usually draws them to this post.  It’s become one of my favorite posts not just for that reason but because the post includes a lot of important information on our current issues with food. 
  • There’s also referrals.  Referrals are instances where another blog or website suggests my blog .  The positive side of this is I get traffic to my blog.  And a lot of times, it’s from media sites that are closely related in terms of content.  It IS kinda cool to see referrals from Google and Facebook.  The negative side is the “referring” website or blog may not be appropriate or could be a spam site.  And quite often, they are getting money for referring their visitors to MY blog!  I want to make money too but I want to do it the right way.  And not at the expense or inconvenience of someone else. 

So what’s ahead in the next 12 months? 

  • The survey is now complete.  I plan on reviewing and analyzing the results to help improve the direction and content of the blog.  Thanks to all of you who took the time to share your feedback, both positive and constructive criticism.  I value both.
  • As my business develops and expands, you will see more information about my “brand”.  Yes, I said it…I have a BRAND!
  • I’m considering creating a new blog that’s focused totally on food.  I like the idea of blogging new recipes, sharing new restaurants, and information on healthier eating.  I want to spend some more time researching other blogs to see how I can make my food blog different from what’s already out there. 
  • Through the blog, I’ve been blessed to receive a few offers to speak to groups or present a workshop.  As I schedule these events, I will share them with you as well. 

So, if you are new to the “clic” blog, take some time and review my pages and previous postings to learn more about me and about life coaching…and life in general. 

And if you’ve been with me from the beginning…or discovered the blog later in the journey, I want to challenge you.  How much have you grown in the past 12 months?  If you REALLY feel that you’ve changed as a result of this blog, that’s wonderful!  Thank your Heavenly Father that He gave you the right teacher when you were ready to receive the lesson.  And even if you’ve evolved despite anything that you’ve read here, what a blessing that is.  You found what you needed, either internally or externally, to reach your next level.  I know that I am grateful that I am not where I used to be, and I’m not yet where I was purposed to be… but I am where I’m supposed to be. 

But I will still challenge you to be MORE than you already are.  Now that you’ve achieved this height, soar higher. 

I will continue to spread my wings and test the air.  I will look at what’s ahead and not dwell on what’s behind.  And if I fall, I will trust in my faith to catch me. 

Have a blessed day!

Carlton

His eye is on the sparrow, and I know, he watches over me.

I leave you with the voice I posted on March 1, 2010

One thought on “March 1st, 2011 – 365 Days Later, At Least I’m Off The Ground

  1. Carlton, Thank you for opening your heart & knowing this was the right path for you to continue on your journey. I wish more people could spread their wings and follow what God has in store for them. I believe only then the world would be a more peaceful place.

Leave a Reply

