Battle with the Buffet aka Making Choices – May 9th, 2010

I had a Carrie Underwood moment in the parking lot of the Hy-Vee this week. 

It was a stressful week and I was tempted to reach for comfort foods.  I wanted some Chinese so bad!  Every time I drove by a Chinese buffet, it was all I could do to stop my hands from turning into the parking lot.  I had a Carrie Underwood “Jesus Take the Wheel” moment at the Hy-Vee in Lee’s Summit.  Not only is there a Chinese section in the grocery store but there’s a buffet in the strip mall.  I was able to avoid the Chinese food at the store but that Devil was trying to get me again with the buffet.  And it’s not even one of my favorite buffets but there I was, calling on Jesus to take the steering wheel. 

I love flavorful, garlicky foods.  And one reason why I like Chinese buffets is the choices.  I can get a little bit of everything that I like – just a little.  Because I like a little heat, a little sweet and a little spice.  If I order from the menu, I certainly couldn’t afford to order some of everything.  But the buffet provides me with a the luxury of choices.

Choices, in general, were a big problem on many levels for me this week.  But in terms of food, I am very frustrated with the industry.  Documentaries like Super Size Me and Food, Inc have really increased my awareness of food and how it’s grown, or processed or packaged.  It has become very apparent to me that the food industry doesn’t do a lot to make sure that we eat foods that are good for our bodies.   So I have to be in charge of my own wellness.  I am responsible for making better choices.

To help me this week, I remembered my cousin Bev’s words: if you bring it in your house, you will eat.  That makes total sense to me.  Because of the way I was raised, I’m not going to throw out something that I paid good money for or let it go to waste.  And like most people, I was taught to “clean my plate”.  But if I leave the ice cream, the potato chips, the high-sodium-high-in-fat foods at the store, I don’t have to worry about opening the refrigerator or pantry and eating something I shouldn’t be eating.

A former friend of mine used to call me indecisive.  He was partially correct.  I do ponder and pray over important decisions before I make a choice.  I always have.  If a choice will dramatically affect my life, I won’t make a quick decision.  There are consequences with each choice.   And something that may bring me a moment of satisfaction, like some General Tso’s Chicken, may bring me discontent later on down the road (when I have to exercise for 30 minutes longer)!

Right now, I’m just glad I made the decision to let Jesus take the wheel!

Quotes of the day:

“There are always two choices.  Two paths to take.  One is easy.  And its only reward is that it’s easy.”

“I have discovered that I always have choices and sometimes it’s a choice of attitude.”

“Butter and honey shall he eat, that he may know to refuse the evil, and choose the good.”

One thought on “Battle with the Buffet aka Making Choices – May 9th, 2010

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Battle with the Buffet aka Making Choices – May 9th, 2010 « clic -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

