So, When Did You FINALLY Get It?

epiphany –

1.
a Christian festival, observed on January 6, commemorating the manifestation of Christ to the gentiles in the persons of the Magi; Twelfth-day.
 
2.
an appearance or manifestation, esp. of a deity.
 
3.
a sudden, intuitive perception of or insight into the reality or essential meaning of something, usually initiated by some simple, homely, or commonplace occurrence or experience.
 
4.
a literary work or section of a work presenting, usually symbolically, such a moment of revelation and insight.
 
If you are blessed with excellent recollection, you can probably remember the moment or the time period when you finally got IT.  IT is the moment that TRUTH manifested itself or Himself to you.
  • The moment you realized there’s a difference between your natural self and your spiritual self.
  • The moment you realized it was time to grow up and live an adult life.
  • The moment you realized that it was time to leave and move on (a job, a relationship, a situation, etc.).
  • The moment you realized that you were repeating the same mistakes and getting nowhere.  Or you were falling in love with the same person but with a different face. 
  • The moment you realize that the past is a place that you don’t have to visit anymore.

Once you experience that moment, the world changes.  And you can never go back to the person you were before that moment. 

A little before I hit thirty, I went into counseling to confront my issues.  And during my time of prayer, discussion and meditation, I felt like I finally got IT!  I started looking at myself, other people and the world through a different lens.  Authenticity became more important to me.  And my relationship with God got deeper and clearer.

If you STILL haven’t gotten IT yet, at least once, it’s not too late.  It will just be harder for you.  Breaking old habits and changing your behavior seems more difficult as we get older and set in our ways.  But it can be done!  You have to pray, read, talk, be open, seek support, meditate, take chances, and move out of your comfort zone.

You have to move your natural self out of the way to make room for your spiritual self.  Any negative attitudes, any fears and any insecurities must be released before you can allow truth, peace, joy and all that is good into your life. 

Quotes of the day:

Cease trying to work everything out with your minds. It will get you nowhere. Live by intuition and inspiration and let your whole life be Revelation.
Eileen Caddy

But God hath revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God.                                   I Corinthians 2:10

Jody Watley – It All Begins with You

Tata Vega providing the vocals for Shug Avery in the movie, the Color Purple.

2 thoughts on “So, When Did You FINALLY Get It?

  1. Carlton,

    Great insight. I think I had about 10 different epiphanies, but didn’t at the time look at it as God speaking directly to me. The moment that my behavior became a mirror in my kids, that was the moment I knew that God was telling me something and the epiphanies became much stronger because I was in tune to them.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

