April 12th, 2010 – Check Your Filter

Lately, I find myself in situations where I’m dealing with someone’s broken filter.

What is a filter?  That’s what I call that part of our brain or spirit that is supposed to stop our mouths before saying something that might have a negative affect on the recipient.

I will be the first to tell you that my filter sometimes malfunctions but it’s usually when I’m trying to be funny.  As much as I have tried to develop a quick wit, sometimes my filter is on the fritz and my attempt at humor turns into an embarrassing moment.

What prompted this posting was a situation that occurred yesterday.  After I made a statement, someone else who was participating in the discussion made a comment, suggesting that my statement was irrelevant to the topic.  Thankfully, I was able to check my filter before I responded.  My response was that although my statement was not the entire issue, it was an important element of the issue being discussed. 

What was fascinating was how her comment affected everyone else in the room.  It was as if a cloud entered the room and blocked the sun.  I could feel how the climate in the room changed and I could see the raised eyebrows of others in the room. 

I’m not perfect.  I have unconsciously said words that were hurtful to others.  But I’m always very careful in choosing my words in situations with the potential for drama.  I’ve seen and felt what words can do.  Words are very powerful. With one four letter word, LOVE, I can make you feel like you are walking on air. But with using another four letter word, HATE, I can make you feel like nothing. The scriptures say that there is life and death in the tongue. With our choice of words, we spiritually have the power to give life or to take it away.

Quotes of the day:

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.                                   Ephesians 4:29

A wholesome tongue is a tree of life.                                                                Proverbs 15:4

The tongue like a sharp knife…kills without drawing blood.                   Buddha

Whatever is in the heart will come up to the tongue.                                         Persian Proverb

Leave a Reply

