March 10th, 2010 – Support Systems

Comedian and talk show host Mo’nique has received lots of accolades and awards for her portrayal of Mary Jones in the movie Precious.  But she also recently received recognition for something she did off camera.  Singer Jill Scott was pregnant last year with her first child.  Since she has never learned to drive, she had to arrange transportation to and from her doctor’s appointments.  On her recent visit to Mo’nique’s talk show, Jill revealed that Mo’nique volunteered to drive her to and from each week.  How’s that for friendship?

Whenever we are maneuvering the waters of change, it always helps to have some support.  For me, I KNOW I can always depend on and turn to God.  The scriptures assure me that He will supply my every need.  And they assure me that He will comfort me and protect me.  Psalms 91 is currently my favorite scripture and I have read it so much over the past few months I can quote parts of it by memory!

But it also helps to have someone here on Earth that you can turn to as well.

Who is that person in your life who will navigate the waters of change with you?  Who is the person who supports you in triumph and tragedy?  Who is the person who lifts you up when you need a boost…but will bring you down a peg when you need that too? (With love, of course!).  And are you equally as supportive in the relationship?

There are many things in life that we can accomplish and endure alone.  But occasionally we need assistance from someone we can trust to be there.  And it is perfectly fine to ask for that help and support.  I am one of those people who find it challenging to ask for help.  But when I do, my friends know that it is really needed.  And once we’ve survived the rough waters together and reached dry land, our friendship has been strengthened.

I challenge you today to first thank the Heavenly Father for being your number one fan!  Then, think about your friend or your circle of friends who are there for you.  Give them a call or send an email to let them know how much you appreciate their presence in your life.

Quotes of the day:

He shall call upon me, and I will answer him:  I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honor him.   Psalms 91:15

A friend is the one who comes in when the whole world has gone out.    Grace Pulpit

Musically, Hezekiah Walker’s I Need You to Survive seems to fit with today’s post.  I’m posting a You Tube clip that includes the words.  Just take a few moments to listen to them and think about your relationships.

Leave a Reply

